Harringay online

Harringay, Haringey - So Good they Spelt it Twice!

Random question for this site I know but I thought I would post in case anyone has any experience.

I am considering spending a bit of time in Italy to study Italian. There seem to be a lot of places advertising classes but I am not sure where to start.

I am a total beginner and am really just interested in being able to speak. I have never done anything like it before so would like to hear other people's experiences

I wondered if anyone had done anything similar and had any advice. I would like somewhere that caters for adults as I am not a student and am not looking to be part of a student scene.

I would rather learn in Italy as I would love to spend time there and think that's a much better way to learn a language

Tags for Forum Posts: Learning, a, language

Views: 792

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I'm half Italian. 

My two pence worth. Anywhere but Milan. Seriously. I had a uncle there and hated going there to see him. I am yet to meet an Italian who likes Milan.

Depending the time of year and how well you tolerate heat, Naples is a hoot in a chaotic way that only neapolitans can pull off.

Sicily, Puglia or Calabria (but not Reggio Calabria, as it's a bit of a dump - my cousin who's from there would wholeheartedly agree) . Even if you dont learn Italian, you'll never eat better food in your life (I'm getting slightly tearful thinking about it after 2 years of covid)

Sorry I can't help on the language school side but as a general rule the south will be much cheaper than anything ooop north

Good luck. 

Hi this is really useful thank you. Yes I wanted to be more south anywhere so wasn't considering Milan. I love the heat but I hear Neopolitan Italian is quite different - same with Sicilian. But yes the food is one reason I want to spend time there!

I wouldn't let the concern about regional dialects put you off Naples or the south in general.